SMBO to Start Expediting Physician Licensing to Practice in Other States on Sept. 30

As the AMCNO has been reporting, Ohio recently entered into the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC), which permits eligible physicians to apply for a license from each state in which they intend to practice (the state must be part of the IMLC). 

Beginning Sept. 30, 2021, the State Medical Board of Ohio (SMBO) will start processing expedited requests for licensing qualified physicians to practice in these multiple reciprocal states.

Please note, the IMLC allows for this expedited licensing process, but it does not allow physicians to see new patients without being licensed in the state where the patient is located at the time of the visit.

How it works

1. The physician submits one application to the IMLC Commission.

2. The IMLC Commission forwards the application to the SMBO.

3. The SMBO reviews the application, including primary source verifications and the results of a state and federal criminal background check.

4. If the physician meets all requirements of the Compact, the SMBO issues a “Letter of Qualification” to the IMLC Commission.

5. The physician is notified by the IMLC Commission and then selects the states within the Compact where he/she wishes to be licensed. The physician also pays each state’s licensing fee.

6. Upon receiving the Letter of Qualification, the licensing state(s) issue a license.

For a physician to qualify for an expedited license under the Compact, he/she must meet criteria listed under General Eligibility. Once a physician is issued a license via the IMLC from a state, he or she must adhere to the existing renewal and continuing medical education requirements of that state.

Participating states

At this time, 29 states issue licenses, including: Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

Four other states are in the process of joining the IMLC: Delaware, District of Columbia, Pennsylvania and Texas.

Approximately 80% of U.S. physicians meet the criteria for licensure through the IMLC.